2008-09 Named Chair Appointments

In 2008-09, Williams College appointed of the following professors to named chairs: Henry W. Art as the Rosenburg Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology; Ilona D. Bell as the Samuel Fessenden Clarke Professor of English; George T. Crane as the Fred Greene Third Century Professor of Political Science; Susan Dunn as the Preston S. Parish ’41 Third Century Professor in the Arts and Humanities; David B. Edwards as the W. Van Alan Clark ’41 Third Century Professor of the Social Sciences; Zirka Z. Filipczak as the J. Kirk T. Varnedoe ’67 Professor of Art; Peter J. Montiel as the Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. ’41 Professor of Economics; Jana Sawicki as the Carl W. Vogt ’58 Professor of Philosophy; and John W. Thoman, Jr. as the J. Hodge Markgraf Professor of Chemistry.